Courtney Isabella

Courtney Isabella Memorial Sportsmanship Award Winners

     courtney plaque

The Courtney Isabella Scholarship Fund was established in 2006 to provide post high school educational awards to children that embody the Soap Box Derby sportsmanship ideals that were displayed by Courtney Isabella.

The Courtney Isabella Sportsmanship Award is presented to a driver in the local All American race who exemplifies the highest standards of sportsmanship during the race day as voted on by the Board of Directors.Courtney Isabella, age 11, died suddenly in October of 2005 as a result of a viral infection. At the age of two, she was diagnosed with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. Her brief life was constantly wrought with pain that was at times unbearable. Courtney tried to participate in many team sports that other children normally do. Unfortunately, her disease limited her physical capabilities. There were two activities that Courtney eventually fell in love with; dancing and Soap Box Derby racing. For four years Courtney raced her car, never finishing first, but always being competitive. She enjoyed the bond of racing with the many friends she met. Her presence at a track brightened the day for all involved. Courtney would capture everyone’s heart with her radiant smile and her positive attitude toward the sport of racing.

She was the 2004 recipient of the Keystone Racing Association’s Sportsmanship Award. With these attributes, she was a true champion.

Indian Valley Soap Box Association (IVSBA) in partnership with The Keystone Rally Association, will award an educational scholarship each fall, beginning in 2006, to a child racing in the Keystone Rally circuit.

Over $50,000 in Scholarships awarded to date

If you would like to make a donation to the fund, please make a check payable to:

Courtney Isabella Memorial Scholarship Fund (CIMSF)
P.O. Box 64573
Souderton, PA 18964

Past Recipients

2007        Mitchell Miller
2008        Oliver Miller
2009        Marc Sine
2010        Ben Mellinger
2011        Stacia Reutlinger
2012        Justin Reed
2013        Sean Kearney
2014        Matt Bakey      Sarah Herold    Frankie Pileggi
2015        Lindsay Henning    Travis Fazio    Trevor Fazio
2016        Ben Loux

IVSBA is a 501(c)3 organization. Please consult with your tax advisor on the deductibility of your donation.